House Rules, Part 1

July 30, 2009

So, I thought I’d take a minute and go over some of the house rules I’m considering for this game.

During character creation, I want the characters to be a little more heroic than usual, so I’ll probably let them use a system like that espoused by Scott Martin over at Gnome Stew. It’s really quite the interesting system:

  1. Roll stats as normal (in this case, we’ll be rolling instead of 4E’s chosen method, point buy).
  2. Give everyone half the difference between their stat totals and the highest to spend 1:1 on stats as they choose.
  3. ???
  4. Profit!

Effectively, this brings everyone closer to the highest rolling player, with those who rolled the lowest actually getting the most flexibility in how to stat their characters.

I’ll definitely be pulling in the B(eliefs) and I(nstincts) from Burning Wheel‘s BITs (the “T” standing for Traits). I want the players to feel like and know that their characters have a say in what happens in the campaign. This is one of the best ways I know of to do this because it gets the player’s inside their character’s heads right at the start. That, and it lets me know up front what the characters (and thus the players) are interested in playing.

Following the example of Burning Wheel and others (for instance, Spirit of the Century), I plan on using either a system like the “Rule-Breaker” Cards over on Gnome Stew, or the FYIA tokens mentioned over at Deeper in the Game. These will allow the characters more control over what happens than just what the dice allow. I’m thinking I’ll go with FYIA tokens, though I’ll have to figure out their allowed uses. I figure I’ll give them under criteria similar to games I mentioned above: whenever Instincts cause trouble, and whenever Beliefs are progressed by the player that espouses them.

Any thoughts as to what I may want to change above? Or what I may want to add?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

